In Sickness…


I, Deviant Dater, take you, The Fiance, to be my husband. I promise to be true to you in good times and in bad, in sickness and in health. I will love you and honor you all the days of my life.

In sickness and in health.

Sickness.

A couple weeks ago, The Fiance had an operation on his foot.  Everything is fine, but he was just a little bit more needy than usual.  (Usually I like his neediness.)  It just seems like he’s really testing if I’m going to really mean those vows, or if I’m gonna cut and run before we even get to the alter.  Remember how he had the flu back in April?  It’s clearly a test.

Thankfully, he wasn’t spewing germs about the apartment this time.  He just happened to have surgery on his right foot, i.e. his driving foot.  Now in a perfect world, he would have teleworked from our couch with his foot propped up and a lap desk with his computer, or, you know whatever.

telecommuter-200px-

But this isn’t a perfect world, and The Fiance couldn’t telework.  Since I insisted that he couldn’t just sit at home doing nothing and actually had to go to work, that meant that for a week, I was promoted (demoted?) from the position of Fiance to the position of Fiance/Personal Chauffeur.  (It came with a pay raise and everything!)

Every day I would drive him to his office and I would pick him up.  No, we don’t work close to each other.  No, we don’t have similar schedules.  On some days I was waking up at 5:30 to get him to work by 6:00 am and taking late lunches to pick him up at 2:30.  Other days I was taking early lunches to get him in by 11:30 and eating late dinners to pick him up by 8:00 pm.

tumblr_mk541sOYyU1qbrdf3o2_r1_250.gif

On Thursday following the procedure, we went back for the post-op.  He got the green light to stop wearing the boot and to be able to drive himself.  I was ecstatic.  No more chauffeuring for me!  But you guys, I kid you not, he called me right at 11:30 on that Thursday morning after driving himself to the office to let me know that he had forgotten his badge at home and could I pretty please with a cherry on top bring it to him.

Guys, if I haven’t proven myself by now, I don’t know if I ever will.  But don’t worry, he made it up to me by dancing like a maniac (boot and all) at the wedding we attended Fourth of July Weekend.

Leave a Reply

