Made of Honor


No, I’m not talking about the Patrick Dempsey movie.  I’m talking about the fact that when your best friend, sister, cousin, or whomever asks you to be their Maid of Honor, you’d better be made of some strong stuff.  Seriously.

IMG_9299In April, I was the Maid of Honor for my best friend.  The wedding was beautiful, she was beautiful, and everything was about as perfect as anyone could have asked for.  I had a great time being Maid of Honor and felt really, well, honored to be a part of this special time for my friend and her (now) husband.

I don’t know if you’ve been keeping up with the tally, but I started this blog because of a wedding and I guess in a year I’ll be ending it with another wedding (my own!).  But since starting this blog, I’ve attended 4 weddings, turned down a wedding, been in 2 other weddings, and have invites for another stuck to my refrigerator.  Oh, and let’s not forget my own wedding.

Let me tell you guys, I never really realized just how much planning and time and money and everything goes into weddings.  By everyone: the bride, the groom, the family, the friends.12990852_10101274179655625_7231120746933106571_n

I felt like planning the bachelorette party for my friend was like planning a mini wedding.  I organized schedules, managed a budget, and crafted to the point of burning off my fingertips with my hot glue gun.  But the bride had a great time, and all the girls involved enjoyed themselves (and without fingertips I could just rob a bank to afford my own wedding).

13000180_10101277880269565_5218408122052860178_nThe wedding itself required a lot more work, obviously.  And of course that was mostly shouldered by the bride and her mother.  There’s a crazy amount of planning and prep work that goes into weddings (and money, too).  I’m pretty sure we were all running ragged by the morning-of and looking forward to it all being said and done with the couple happily married and all of us finally getting a solid 8 hours of sleep.

12993410_10101277962689395_168480224295268625_nBut at that moment when my friend stood at the end of the aisle on her father’s arm, looking radiant as her hair glinted in the sun with a look of pure joy and excitement on her face, that was when everything came together.  All those hours of preparation and stress, all the shopping trips and the dollars spent, the sleepless nights and the frantic texts were suddenly and completely worth it.

And yet, somehow, I still feel a bit guilty asking my sister to take on all this stress to be my Maid of Honor.  The wedding is still about a year away, but she’s already donated a lot of time, money, and effort, not to mention she’s put up with more than enough drama.  Luckily, she’s my sister and will love me not matter what.  And we both know that I’ll do the same when she ties the knot.  Now I just have to navigate my qualms about asking anyone else to be in my bridal party after having really experienced an up close and personal role of what it all entails.  We shall see how this experiences affects the size of my own bridal party…

Leave a Reply

