Green Bean Casserole


This Thanksgiving was my first Thanksgiving in the US that I spent away from my family.  Instead, we went to The Beau’s family to celebrate the holiday.

I’m not going to lie, I was a bit nervous about eating Thanksgiving dinner someplace other than home.  Why?  Because every family has different traditions.  Also, I’m pretty sure that no one is as good a chef as my grandmother.

A brief conversation about what The Beau’s family generally eats on this day of feasting, and I quickly realized there would be no green bean casserole.

tumblr_n1eqnyk4p51r2tuixo1_400.gif

Who has Thanksgiving without green bean casserole?!?!  Surely no one!  So of course, I did what any real American would do and volunteered to make and bring the green bean casserole.

I went out and bought all the ingredients and on Tuesday I prepared everything.  I wanted it to be ready for us to take with us on the drive down, and then pop it in the oven on Thursday.

Feeling proud of myself for being ahead of schedule and ready to visit The Beau’s family, I sat down on the couch to relax and watch some TV before bed.  And that’s when I noticed it.

tumblr_mbc1bgRcrx1ro8qpo.gifI was missing one of the acrylic nails I had on leftover from one of the weddings I was just in.  Oh $h!t.

I don’t know when I lost it, or where I lost it.  All I could imagine was The Beau’s grandmother holding up a spoonful of my casserole topped with a fake fingernail.  Oh God.

Immediately I began freaking out.  I combed the kitchen, the living room, the garbage searching for that fingernail.  All to no avail.

The Beau said to not worry about it and just bring the casserole I had prepared.  When I went to bed that night, I was in total agreement with him.  Chances of it actually being in the casserole were slim.  I could have lost it anywhere.

But then I couldn’t sleep.  I tossed and turned unable to take my mind off the fact that come Thursday, I might be serving GG up a nice healthy spoonful of acrylic nail.

On Wednesday, I went to work after leaving a list on the counter for The Beau to go buy new ingredients so I could make another casserole for us to bright with us.  I want these people to like me!  I don’t want anyone to accuse me of poisoning them so I don’t have to worry if they like me or not.

Although, now that I think of it………

4171a940-75b2-0133-9062-0e17bac22e39.gif
Have some green bean casserole  O:-)

 

 

2 thoughts on “Green Bean Casserole

  1. Pingback: Reprise of the Green Bean Casserole – Confessions of a Sexual Deviant

  2. Pingback: Thanksgiving – Confessions of a Sexual Deviant

Leave a Reply

