True Love


Shortly after The Beau and I moved in together, he was switched to a different shift at work.  Instead of working 8:00 to 4:30, he now works 11:30 to 8:00.  I work 8:30-5:00.  What does this mean?  Well, for starters it means we don’t have to worry about sharing the bathroom in the morning.  It also means that The Beau doesn’t get home until 8:30 at night.  Which wouldn’t be a problem, except that I wake up at 6:00 am and like to have 8 hours of sleep.

Basically, our schedules are 3 hours off.  Three very important hours.  Ultimately, we spend less than 2 hours of the day awake together.

Also it means I do all of the cooking.  Every day.  Lots of cooking.  Why?  Because The Beau will not eat the same thing two nights in a row.

So tired of cooking...
So tired of cooking…

Don’t get me wrong, I like cooking well enough, but I wouldn’t mind sharing the cooking duties.  I just don’t want to wait for The Beau to get home at 8:30 when he can start cooking, meaningwe wouldn’t get to eat until 9:30.  I go to bed at 10:00!  (Yes, I’m a grandma.)  But it’s just too late.  Not to mention, I know that if I left The Beau to fend for himself, he would be eating a lot more junk than he does now.  Just last week he mentioned how he’s astonished he hasn’t had McDonald’s in over 6 weeks.

This weekend I may have mentioned how I’m just tired of doing so much cooking all the time.  Trying to make things The Beau and I both like that is also healthy means I generally have to follow recipes, and I am not a recipe follower.  The healthy things that I like, he doesn’t.  And sometimes I just like unhealthy food.  Like butter.

paula-deen-butter-o
This is possibly why I’m fat.

But yesterday, The Beau worked the early shift and got off at 2:00.  When I got home I expected to find him studying, but instead I found all the lights off, candles lit, Chinese food ordered and lunch and dinner for today prepared and in the fridge!

tumblr_nbao1705K21rh92sko1_500
Sesame chicken by candle light? Yes, please!

You guys, it was the sweetest, most thoughtful, loving thing he could have done for me on a difficult Monday.  Basically, he’s the best and I’m spoiled rotten.  I think I’ll keep him.

2 thoughts on “True Love

  1. Pingback: Meat – Confessions of a Sexual Deviant

Leave a Reply

