Sharing the Bed


Ah, cuddling.  I love it.  Mostly.  But sharing a bed for actual sleep is a whole different story.  If you’re like me and you’ve never regularly shared a bed before, it definitely takes some getting used to.  Especially if your bed isn’t that big.  Mine is a double bed.  Have you ever tried to fit two fat people into one double bed?  It’s not pretty.  Just last night The Beau was all, “Can you move over closer to the wall?”  And I was all, “I’m already touching the wall!”

This sums everything up.
This sums everything up.

Additionally, you have to take into consideration that you’re trying to mesh one person’s life-time of sleeping habits with another person’s. I’ll be the first to admit that I have some weird sleeping habits.  I like to move around and change positions a lot.  Also, I hate hate HATE having my feet covered when I sleep.  I need to have at least one of them outside of the blankets.

Anyway, as I said, I loooooove to cuddle, but only when I’m awake.  Once I go to sleep, I don’t want to be touched.  I want my own space to move and breathe.  The Beau, however, is needy.  He wants to hold or be held the whole night long.  So more often than not, we end up sleeping in the Cliff Hanger Position: I’m desperately trying to escape his loving embrace, and he is chasing me all the way to the edge of the bed.

I'm serious, even in a California King Size bed, we ended up like this.
I’m serious, even in a California King Size bed, we end up “sleeping” like this.

When he’s not spooning me right off the bed, though, he wants to be spooned.  Wait… I promised I wouldn’t tell anyone he likes being the Little Spoon (regardless of the fact that he’s nearly a foot taller than me).  I’m pretty sure there’s a stereotype going around that being the Little Spoon is emasculating, because when I spoon him, he won’t even refer to it as “spooning.”  Instead, he calls it The Jet Pack.  I guess he thinks it makes him sound tough.  Personally, I just think it sounds like I might be gassy.

753708ca8e88ad04e756e1990834e4e7
Flyin high!

But then we have to take into consideration that it’s summer.  And for reasons unbeknownst to me, my super swanky apartment that I spend $1,000 a month on doesn’t seem to be able to stay cool at night, even when I set the thermostat in the 60’s.  I used to consider myself a heat-generating person, but I’ve got nothin’ on The Beau.  In fact, I’m fairly positive that should we ever attempt to spend the night in an igloo, our combined body heat would melt it before sunrise.  That being said, we occasionally end up in The Leg Hug position.  It’s nice because we aren’t being smothered by our combined body heat, The Beau still gets his need to touch fulfilled, and I get to keep one foot uncovered.  A win all around.

63
Inuits no longer need worry about their homes.

The last position we sometimes sleep in is The Butt Cuddle.  You know, back to back and I get to wiggle my butt up against his and annoy him to the point where he can’t fall asleep.  Just kidding, of course.  He actually likes it.  I think.  Anyway, it’s nice because again, it reduces body heat and I feel a lot less guilty when I move around.  Still involves the touching that he likes, but there’s more freedom that suits me.

cherish
Cheek to cheek

So, I can definitely say it takes some getting used to.  For the most part it’s nice to have someone else to snuggle and who will turn off the lights at night, but sometimes I miss having the bed all to myself.

Mine, all mine....
Mine, all mine…
One thought on “Sharing the Bed

  1. Pingback: It’s a compliment really – Confessions of a Sexual Deviant

Leave a Reply

