From the Mouths of Babes– Ms. Frizzle’s Tinder Tryout


From the Mouths of Babes 2Tinder Tryout

Recently, I was on a trip to the fifth-largest city in the United States. Coming off of a breakup, I decided to try my luck with the mobile-app dating scene. You know it- I created an account on Tinder.

It started as a challenge with my friends. A guy had followed me on Twitter, and we thought we had seen him on a visiting friend’s Tinder the night before. The goal was simple- find the Twitter guy and delete the app. Of course, it didn’t happen that way.

I created my account and started swiping. There are a lot of cute guys in the big city. Soon, I had my first match. And then another. And another… And so on, until I had 69 (not difficult to remember) on my first evening. That night, I get back to my hotel, and a guy who I had hit it off with asks if he can drive down from another state to see me. I told him I’d meet him in the hotel bar if I could bring three friends. He agreed. I, of course, thought he would cancel on me because I am not the type to go on a Tinder date, but I was wrong.

About forty minutes later, my date had arrived. He was tall and dashing. He was a total gentleman and had a great accent. We figured out we have the same religion and both love our families and jobs. We talked for about two hours, and he was on his way. He didn’t try to kiss me. We hugged and said goodnight.

The next day, I didn’t hear from him all day. I thought that was alright. I had a great date the night before, was completely safe despite the dangers of Tinder, and knew our 13-hour distance meant nothing could happen.

However, my friends and I are out the next night, and I get a text. He’s sent me a screenshot of the weather forecast, told me there might be rain, and sent me three good bars near the hotel. My little southern heart just about melted.

Even though I didn’t see him for the rest of my trip, It was an awesome experience. I happened to get very lucky. I did take a safety precaution and bring my friends on  my date (they left soon after they assessed him to not be a threat). I ended up having 189 matches on Tinder in 27 hours, and then the app was deleted. I highly recommend Tinder to anyone traveling elsewhere. Staying in Smalltown, USA and using Tinder just seems to spell disaster for me.

So even though I told Deviant I would NEVER do online dating, I tried it and loved it. Of course, it was just so I could write about it for her blog 🙂

–Ms. Frizzle

Leave a Reply

