Facebook Status


The Beau and I have been dating for almost 6 months now.  I know, can you believe it?  I mean, there are some days when I can’t even believe it.  And then of course there are other days when I feel like we’ve been dating forever.  I mean that in the best possible way, of course.

sandlot-forever-o_zps0265233b
For-ev-er

Anyway, we’ve been dating for this long and as far as I can tell, things are going pretty great.  I’m happy.  He’s happy (I hope).  BUT, his Facebook status still says “Single.”  Now, I know that I can’t really hold Facebook relationship statuses to the be-all-end-all of relationship statuses.  I mean, as I mentioned before, I’ve got a smokin’ hot facebook wife.  Are we married in real life?  No, not legally.  So my Facebook relationship status is a lie.  And since I don’t plan on changing mine, I guess that I shouldn’t be too upset over the fact that his is, too.

Really, I don’t even need him to change his relationship status to “In a relationship.”  He can change it to whatever he wants.  He can just remove it entirely.  I know that changing a relationship status on Facebook can sometimes cause great uproar among your Facebook friends.  Thank goodness my wife and I got married before News Feed existed and people couldn’t comment on the change in our relationship status.

Facebook be all up in our business
Facebook be all up in our business

I guess what really bothers me is the fact that with his relationship status still set to “Single,” it looks like The Beau is “on the market.”  And he’s not.  At all.  I mean, I know he’s a catch, and I just don’t want to have to deal with taking out all these other girls who are like “Oh, heeeeeeeeeey!  You’re cute and single!  Want my number?”

tumblr_n2sk87HJlF1r317bvo1_400
Not that I’m a crazy, jealous girlfriend or anything…

He’s not overly concerned with it, so probably I’m just over-reacting, but at what point in the relationship do you change your status?  Maybe we’re too “mature” to be worried about this.  Maybe I’m acting like too much of a “teenager.”  But with the extent that social media is a part of our every day lives, I don’t think I’m asking for too much when I ask him to change his Facebook relationship status.  Do you?

Facebook relationship request: DENIED
Facebook relationship request: DENIED
Leave a Reply

