The Pressure!


So, hopefully you’re all aware that Valentine’s Day is THIS WEEK.  And it’s kind of a big deal.  I mean, I’m not generally one of those women who consider it a make it or break it kind of thing, but because it’s my and The Beau’s first Valentine’s Day together, the pressure is on.  This will set the precedence for every other Valentine’s Day we might have together.

Before I get too far, you should know that I felt the same way about Christmas this year: “First Christmas.  What do I get him??  This is going to be the basis of the rest of our Christmases together!!”  But we also hadn’t been dating that long, so I didn’t want to get him anything too big, and yet not too small either.  I debated a lot about it before deciding to go with a mason jar of moonshine (for his mixologist side) and a flask with a handlebar mustache on it (because he was going through this weird facial hair phase).  But it took me at least 5 weeks of inner turmoil before I actually decided.

What if he gives me something really great and I just gave him a flask????
What if he gives me something really great and I just gave him a flask????

And now, THE SAME THING is happening for Valentine’s Day.  You’d think I’d have figured this stuff out by now….  I want to be sure to give him something good, but not too cliche.  Something he’ll enjoy, but won’t be over the top.  I feel like society is doing an excellent job pressuring me to do certain things, but who wants to give in to society anyway?  Not to mention, I can’t afford society.

On the other hand, I’m pretty cliche in that I like flowers (but not roses), love good food (Chipotle is pretty darn good), and like sweets (except I’m doing this stupid low carb thing).  I don’t want to demand these things, but of course I won’t say no to them either.  But what if he goes all out and gets me something fancy and romantic and my gift doesn’t match up???

What do I dooooooooooo??????  I’m thinking a nice nerdy valentine is gonna be the route to go…  I’ll just have to be sure to save THE BEST of the box for him.

Neither Catwoman, Penguin, nor Joker are gonna cut it.  Only Batman for my true love.
Neither Catwoman, Penguin, nor Joker are gonna cut it. Only Batman for my true love.
Leave a Reply

