It’s okay to be weird.


If you think that you’re a spaz on dates, then you haven’t gone on a date with me. Most of the time I feel like I’m a pretty normal person…  Okay, that’s a blatant lie. But frequently I do a good job hiding just how weird I actually am. (That’s how I manage to get second and third dates!)

At least that's what I tell people.
At least that’s what I tell people.

That being said, I’m still terrible at dating.  Seriously, it’s a miracle that men would call me for second and third dates.  They’ve got to either be really desperate, or really into weird stuff.  I mean, I think I’m cool and awesome and my friends think I’m cool and awesome.  (But my friends can quote LOTR to me, and I know exactly where the reference comes from.  Just don’t tell my boyfriend, because I’m currently waging an epic battle in which I convince him I’m NOT a nerd, and I’m thiiiiis close to convincing him.)  But as far as dating men goes, I’m that slightly off, kooky girl who can’t really get away with it because I’m not “hot.”

It's totally okay to be weird if you're Zooey Deschanel.
It’s totally okay to be weird if you’re Zooey Deschanel.

I’m actually infamous among my friends for being ridiculously awkward, particularly with men, but mostly just all the time.  Luckily for me, I found a guy who says that my “awkwardness is okay.”  My friends say that I need to do my best to keep him, because there will never be another guy who says that again.  That might be true….

But brace yourselves, I’m about to have a profound light-bulb moment.  If I’ve learned anything from this online dating experience, it’s this:

giphy[1]

It’s okay to be weird/awkward/smart/nerdy/kooky/whatever.  It’s okay to be yourself.  In fact, it’s BETTER to be yourself.  Think about it.  If you start off a relationship pretending to be something you’re not, you’ll have to keep pretending for the duration of the relationship which might be the rest of your life.  The rest of your life hiding your real self from the one person who is supposed to love you until death do you part.

And trust me, ladies and gents, it ain’t worth it.  If someone doesn’t like you for who you are, it might hurt in the short-term, but it’s better than hurting for the long-term knowing that you can never be the real you.  Even when it seems like there might not be anyone out there who really “gets you,” that’s about as far from the truth as it can be.  No matter your eccentricities and your normalcies, there is someone out there who will appreciate, and even love, you for these things (and I’m not just talking about your mother).

So stop behaving in the ways that we’re told are “normal” and start being yourself.  Zooey Deschanel isn’t the only one who can get away with being weird/awkward/smart/nerdy/kooky/whatever.  You can, too!

Look out fellas!
Look out fellas!
One thought on “It’s okay to be weird.

  1. Pingback: Dating Nerdy | Online Dating of a Sexual Deviant

Leave a Reply

