Outed


This week I gave my family the best holiday gift they could possibly want: I revealed that I am FINALLY (in their mind) in an “official” relationship with a man, thereby proving that I am not a lesbian after all. Yay! (I did NOT tell my grandparents about the number of men I went out with before I found this cutie.)

I thought I would share some of the responses I got when I went public.

*****

One of my best friends: “So, how are things going with you and the Jedi Master?  I’m so glad you have decent taste in men and didn’t pick a total weirdo.”

My aunt, upon hearing he was my “official boyfriend”: AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!! YES!! *fist pump*

My sister: “I’m coming to visit you!  Do you think you’ll get married before me?”

My father: “What’s his name, again? Doesn’t matter…. I won’t remember it until you’ve been on 8 dates.” (Even after 8 dates Dad continues to call him “Ringo” because he can’t remember if his name is John, Paul, or George.)

Oma (received the news second hand from my father): “How old is he? 33? Does he already have a wife? How does she know he doesn’t have a wife? He’s 33, shouldn’t he already have a wife???”

Grandma: “Just remember this week, dear, that nothing tastes as good as being skinny feels.”

Leave a Reply

