He’s just not that into you


I’m sorry, but how could he NOT be into me? I don’t understand what just happened…

Darryl-The-Office-I-would-Date-the-Hell-out-of-Me

We messaged a bit before exchanging numbers. He sent me a text message every day for the past week. We discussed our interests, jobs, and what we do in our free time. We even had the sex talk and he passed with flying colors (Yay for respectful men!).

And then suddenly he just stopped texting out of the blue. There was no build up to it. We’d messaged each other on Tuesday morning. Then Wednesday was radio silence. I mean, I didn’t message him on Wednesday, either (I don’t want to come across as the needy type who can’t live a day without sending a text to some guy I’ve never even met in real life.)

But, okay, let’s be honest. Maybe I AM that needy. By the time Wednesday night rolled around I was craving the flirtatious attention I’d been receiving over the past week. I’m not saying I was laying on my bed, staring at the phone, willing it to vibrate with a text message. Because I totally wasn’t. Uh uh. Nope. No way. Not me. I was definitely keeping busy. Crocheting. (Maybe not the coolest activity, but better than staring at a cell phone.)

So I managed to crochet peacefully until 10. Then I gave in and sent him a text message. I know! I’m weak! I told myself it was because I wanted to find out if we were still going out on Friday… but if that excuse managed to convince you, then you’re more gullible than I am.

I cursed myself after sending that text. What did it help? Nothing! Now I was extra anxious for my phone to light up with a message of some sort. It made me more on edge waiting to hear from him. And did I?

No.

Granted it was 10 pm on Wednesday when I sent him a message, so I went to bed telling myself surely he’d respond to my question on Thursday.

All day Thursday, again nothing.

By Thursday night I was completely lost. I didn’t want to message him again and be that obnoxious girl who keeps texting you when you just aren’t interested, but I really thought this guy was nice, and he definitely seemed interested in me as of Tuesday morning…

I mean, I totally didn’t spend the whole day wondering how a man goes from telling you you’re cute and adorable and how he’s looking forward to meeting you one day, and the next he’s completely uninterested.  That would just be pathetic.  Besides, there are four other men who are messaging me every day.  But I made plans with this particular one for Friday evening!

On Friday, I gave in again at lunch time.  I sent him a message saying I hadn’t heard from him in a while and was just wondering if we were still on for meeting up that evening.  Lo and behold, he responded!!  He even apologized for going off the radar saying his week had gotten hectic (although, seriously, why did I believe him?  It takes two seconds to send a text message… unless you’re my dad and then it takes a minute or so).  We made exact plans on when and where to meet and that was that.

For the rest of the afternoon, I went into my usual pre-date panic.  The whole rest of the day at work was completely unproductive (thank goodness it was Friday afternoon).  I couldn’t focus on data entry when I was trying to figure out what outfit to wear and how to do my hair and if I’d have enough time to shave my legs or not.

Finally it was time to leave, and I bolted out the door (I’d figured if I got home immediately I would have time to shave).  While I was driving home I got another text message from my date.  A message telling me that he was feeling “out of spirits” and wouldn’t be good company.

Wait, what?  He’s feeling out of spirits???  ARE YOU KIDDING ME?!?!?!  Did I just spend the past four hours freaking out FOR NO REASON????  I barely ate lunch, which had the potential to be delicious, because I was so nervous about meeting this guy, and now he cancels???  That is SUCH a man thing to do.  Ugh.  How rude!  And now I don’t have any plans for tonight.  Selfish jerk.  What am I going to do tonight?  Well, the one thing I won’t be doing is shaving my legs.

And then I never heard from him again……

2 thoughts on “He’s just not that into you

  1. J.

    What a dummy! I know how nerve wracking that can be to meet up with someone and then have them cancel and be a flake is, as you said, super selfish. But like you said, you have over 500 guys you can pick from and he was just a bad seed. Good luck and I look forward to hearing more about your adventures!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Online Dating: It’s a Small World | Online Dating of a Sexual Deviant

Leave a Reply

